Where Did This Stuff Come From?

   Sometimes, you don’t know what you’ve got, until you look. There’s stuff. A glove your dog brought home. A gift you’ve never opened. Something your husband forgot to tell you about. All the junk in the basement. In closets, under furniture, crammed in the garage.

I was just scrolling through my iTunes library and there’s stuff there, too. Lots of it! I’ve downloaded, purchased, and copied a ton of tunes and many spoken words, both books and podcasts, and I live in fear that some Apple algorithm is going to realize how many songs I have, freak out, and stop iTunes from working. Let’s just say there is enough to play continuously, without repeating, for over 400 days or something. But messing around like this, I’ve found some songs there that not only don’t I recognize, but they’re things I know I would never ever think to download, even for research and development.

It’s a treat, of sorts, there are new and unusual performers such as Ollie and the Nightingales and The Three Chuckles and sentimental titles like Tuna Fish Salad and My Little Sister’s Got A Motorbike.

But it’s also kind of like going through someone’s mail with that blank look on your face. Not that that I’ve ever looked through someone’s mail. I swear it.

   Debris 1

I’m getting an education in obscurity and just plain oddness. My imagination has been overworked trying to conjure this group or that orchestra or trying to figure out what language is at work and why our cultures are so different, even though YouTube has been active since many of us were born.

   Debris 2

At the end of all this, I’m including here some of the finds that I love. Or could love, if they were a little bit better. All the same, it’s surprising what I can’t remember. It’s fun and I wonder what it means that I would never encounter these items again, even if I typed as long or as hard as those monkeys.

   Debris 3

   Debris 4

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Did This Stuff Come From?

  1. Kit Tennis says:

    What a perfectly Ringer-esque assortment of debris. I hesitate to imagine what else is hiding in the corners and under the beds in your music library….

Leave a Reply

