Waking Up – First Things First

wu4I try to do it everyday. And, once there, I try to stay that way until it’s time for bed. Coffee is often helpful, but there’s nothing like music to ensure consciousness and to get into an appropriate mood for the rest of the day.

wu5   Good Morning, Good Morning   The Beatles

When I first became a stepfather and the kids were impressionable, I’d start off with Sousa, Fats Waller, and, sometimes, Earth, Wind, and Fire. It worked for me, but it was a struggle for them just to pull themselves out of bed and lurch toward school. As a wise sage once said, Different strokes for different folks.

wu7   Sleepers Awake   Incredible String Band

wu9

I still like to begin the day with some kind of intention. That’s fine when one lives alone, but to keep the peace, I’ve learned to take my coffee into my office and close the door. If this is something you do, let me know what’s on at your house.

Start Off Each Day With A Song   Jimmy Durante

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waking Up – First Things First

  1. Love the classically crazed Jimmy Durante song!! Almost too manic for early morning, tho….

Leave a Reply

