TV or Not TV? – Inescapable.

mmouseWhen I was younger and it was too dark to ride my bike, I had only a handful of choices – homework, Candyland with my sister, the Beach Boys, or watch TV. The Beach Boys were great, but I wasn’t old enough to drive to the hamburger stand and I lived in Minnesota, so surfing was out.

felix2flint2

The Flintstones

The Adams Family

LassiepasLassie

I ended up as one who will never be able to forget the theme songs to these shows whose meaning and philosophy formed a solid foundation for some of the best minds of my generation.

tv3Let’s make a list –

Howdy Doody   It’s that time again.

The Mickey Mouse Club   Why? Because we like you.

Davy Crockett   Killed him a bar, when he was only three.

Mighty Mouse   To save the day!

Lassie (sniff, sniff)

The Flintstones   They’re a page right out of history.

Mr. Ed   Of course.

Bonanza   Don’t play with matches.

Gilligan’s Island   The skipper, too.

The Beverly Hillbillies   Oil that is. Texas tea.

The Patty Duke Show   Identical cousins!

The Lone Ranger   For high brows.

Bevhill

Beverly Hillbillies

These tunes and many others have stood the test of time, meaning I’m stuck with them. But at this distance, I can hear them with a nostalgia that makes me wish for those thrilling days of yesteryear and an early bedtime.

hihosilver   The Lone Ranger

looney1

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV or Not TV? – Inescapable.

  1. Kit Tennis says:

    Wow, the Lassie theme really sneaked up on me. I could never have generated it from memory, yet the whistling immediately generated the wistful love of a dog in my heart. Trippy!!

Leave a Reply

