Deep Within The Hard Drive

hd1I have a lot of stuff on my hard drive. In fact, I have a separate hard drive dedicated to music. It holds all. It knows all. It possesses everything. It lies in wait for my wandering attention. It curls it’s index finger at me and beckons in moments of distraction, asking me, inviting me, seducing me into attending to its indiscriminate hoarding of tunes, sounds, bits of pieces, strange vocal wanderings, mislabeled entries, instrumental doodling, and lost and forgotten tracks, both purposeful and accidental.

alidnace Abi Cama

cheif1  American Indian Ceremonial and War Dances – 08 – Lightning Song (Apache)

0803_Spot-Schimmel3  Alegretto II   William Schimell

600full-the-wild-one-screenshot  Angels, wild

On an afternoon when I should be outside playing or, at the least, cleaning the gutters in anticipation of winter, I, instead, troll through the listings to see what might be lurking, what could be hiding in the cracks between songs, symphonies, and audio books.

Today, for example, I sort by song, though I might also have sorted by artist, album, number of plays, genre, last played, or any number of ways. Thank you, iTunes. I’m scrolling through the As, limiting myself to tracks that are short, around a minute, ones that have a title I don’t understand, or something just plain weird. It’s fun. It’s educational in a strange way. I don’t remember any of these. Check this out. What could this be? Who is that?

Oh, my God! It’s 4:35 and getting dark.

uke7  Alekoki

alvin1Alvin and the Chipmunks

 

bugscond  Act II Entracte

accordion-1  Andante  What? Him again?

sammy1  Adieu  Gershwin played by Sammy Price

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deep Within The Hard Drive

  1. Kit Tennis says:

    The American Indian song is a sign off of a radio show…. OOOps

Leave a Reply

