Holy Cow! – The Holy Modal Rounders

holym Mid 60s.

Hop High Ladies

Someone gave me this record in high school. The Holy Modal Rounders. It was like the title of a mystery that might be difficult to solve. Two guys sounding like insane hicks on acid, being squeezed through the horn of an old victrola. Guitar, banjo, fiddle. I was too young to know if they were really good or not, and, really, too young to care. I just knew that, when they slowed things down, they were playing a couple of the strings of my heart  and, when they really got going, they were encouraging me to take a sip and throw away my shoes and start waving my hands around.

Same Old Man

They were introducing me to a kind of music we didn’t have in Minnesota and were pointing the way down a path that led to all kinds of tunes and sounds and people who were on one of the many fringes of the world, though it didn’t seem like they knew it or cared if they were or not. They were just having a good time. And here I was, being taken for a ride into the dust, the black and white, to dark corners and bright fields, with barely a fence in sight.

These guys didn’t quit. They’re still playing. I love that no one, musicians or artists, nowadays ever stops and stuff just keeps coming out of them. Why stop, when you’re having fun?

Midnight In Paris

holym4 Early 70s.

 

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holy Cow! – The Holy Modal Rounders

  1. Valari Jack says:

    Hey, Ted, I don’t have the links to the music showing up on any of these recent posts. Any idea why? You know I love your words, but there’s gotta be music, too!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Kit Tennis says:

    See, I ain’t the only one who’s easily confused. Valerie, just click on the title of the blog in the email and it directs you to the actual blog. Then you get music and words just like you used to when you only got an email with the link and not the words.

    Big smiles!

    Kit

  3. Kit Tennis says:

    Life in a garret, if only you’ll dare it. Ah, freedom to freeze, or roast, or simply go on a really limited diet!

  4. Kit Tennis says:

    I miss those days! I’ll use your bidet….

Leave a Reply

