Jessica Williams – I’m Confessin’

jw5

When Jessica Williams plays, she is an inspiration that I can’t yet understand. 

Blue Tuesday

She has complete control and carries me in her pocket.  She will be laying down the foundation of a tune and, then, before I know it, starts to swing with my heart in both her hands.  Quoting Erroll Garner, one moment, and Monk, in another, she tells a story, usually moonlit, that moves me to the next step or to the next stop down the road.

jw1

Other players live on through her.  The combination of her notes and the one’s she’s coming from, is what helps the music to grow.  It may start off soft, but soon it strides toward the kind of truth that changes me forever.

It’s Easy To Remember

Her’s is a voice that reminds me I have places more tender than I ever knew.  Sometimes, the music is so exciting I don’t know what to do and forget that I want to sit still, so that I can absorb every phrase.  I hear and feel things.  New things.  All paradoxes apply to the music that flows from her deep sense of loving.  I hear the notes and have to stop.  Then, I remember why I started listening in the first place.

jw4  I’m Confessin’ That I Love You

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jessica Williams – I’m Confessin’

  1. kit tennis says:

    So so so so sweet! Thanks, Ted.

Leave a Reply

