Excuse me, while I kiss the sky!

catkeyboard  Looked at in a certain way, everything I do is an excuse to hear music.  Sleeping – I turn on the Tibetan bowls to send me off to dreamland.  Grocery shopping – Motown, as I cruise the aisles.  Driving anywhere – the radio (often the oldies channel).  Cleaning the house or the garage – maintaining my energy and focus (Muddy Waters, Earth Wind and Fire, Rockabilly).  At the gym, I’ve got a workout mix (Prince, Howlin’ Wolf, Mitch Ryder).  At each holiday, major, minor, and made up on the spot, I’m celebrating with Sousa.  Or, Santana.  Romantic dinners deserve something special.  Each morning, I wake with a song in my head.

greekmusic  Ain’t That Peculiar  Marvin Gaye

nowherefast Where the Iceworms Nest Again   Stampfel and Weber

This blog is the best excuse, yet.

roly2   Killing The Blues  Roly Salley

Sometimes, I say something about the tunes or about the composer or the performer, but whatever happens, the main thing is to single out a piece of music and have the opportunity to focus on just that one.  In the process of getting things right, I hear it three or four times and get to look at a bunch of pictures that might go with it.  That’s a wonderful thing.  I’m trying to do that in everything I do.  That is, I try to arrange things so that I am doing something that has meaning to me.  Why push a shovel, when I can swing a broom?  Why worry about my hair, when I can look into my heart.  Why just do anything, when I can try to do something?

raypas  Louise  Ray Charles

I can’t help it.  It’s like a heat wave!  Burning in my heart!  The drums keep pounding rhythm to the brain!

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

