Dan Hicks – The Walkin’ One and Only!

danh1  When I was younger, I was told that I had an attitude problem.  That annoyed me, but at the same time it confirmed my view of the world.  Dan Hicks has an attitude, but it has never been a problem to anyone who has ever heard him.  He is a master musician with big ears and a way with words.  He once sang, I scare myself.

danh8   I Feel Like Singing

Of course, he also sang stuff like ­— How can I miss you when you won’t go away? and Where’s the money?  He used to come through town with his band, The Hot Licks, and everyone’s toes would be tapping, while they were laughing and acquiring their own attitudes.

danh7 Walkin’ One and Only

He has never wavered from his original musical vision, which seems to have been to have as much fun as possible, don’t make any sudden moves, and hit every note, but not too hard.  His band has always met his high demands, so to speak, and has always been filled with great players and beautiful backup.

danh2  13-D

Hell, I’d Go!

Dan sings sweetly about love, loss, and bad grammar.   He has been there for me, whenever needed.  That’s the kind of attitude I value.

danh3  Where’s the Money?

About Ted Ringer

I am a writer, artist, and listener. Great music is everywhere and has no limits. Some of it is well-orchestrated and some is short and sweet. It can spring out of a moment of deep feeling or result from long periods of development. Music is communication, inspiration, and a million other things. This blog wants to share the wealth and keep toes tapping.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

